Image

Oct 23: First of Many

So, I think an introduction is in order. My name is Cora and I am a worrier, the mom-friend, and an overall nerd. My school life consists of colorguard, marching band, and an onslaught of AP classes. However, I plan to use this site to categorize my thoughts outside of my hectic schedule, I’m not sure if anyone will read it, but I’m willing to give it a try.

I want to make a difference in the world, as most humans do, and I know exactly how to get where I want to go. Spontaneity isn’t my strong suit, so I hope to use this to post my spontaneity and use it to my advantage. After all, some of the weirdest ideas can become the best innovations.

My life is basically a compilation of unfortunate happenings, politics, and writing. Let me start by explaining the unfortunate happenings, I have always been unlucky as all of my friends will account to, and therefore make for the best stories. Writers of all sorts will account to having some of the best anecdotes out there. Maybe I don’t have the best, but after awhile my humor, and my unlucky nature, will become second nature. Hopefully just the humor though.

My love and interest in politics started halfway through middle school when a teacher was talking about who she wanted to vote for in the election. Personally, I was just going to root for whoever my parents were voting for, but Mr. Gorman was giving me personalities and viewpoints I had never heard before. While the amount of political nonsense he was talking could have gotten him fired, his words still inspired me to go home and research. New York Times seemed to have the most relevant articles so I read those. I studied issues I had never even heard of, places I had only seen on a map, and people I never knew existed. From there my love for the world and the people living in it grew exponentially. I wanted to make a difference, I wanted to touch lives, and the best way for me to do that seemed to be through the policy. I still have this wish, and probably will for the rest of my life. Therefore, some of this blog will be my take on the world, with the hope that sharing my ideas will affect some of you the way I was affected so long ago.

My writing has always been a part of my life. It’s never been anything big or focal, it’s just always been there. Every once in awhile I will share some things with you. I love reading poetry, but I’m not sure how well I write it, however I love to. With writing comes reading, naturally, so I will also include what I’m reading and how I feel about it. Who doesn’t love an amateur book review after all?

As far as first posts go, I know this isn’t the best, but I promise the first step is effort. If you stick with something for long enough it becomes natural, and I’m hoping that is what will happen here. Until next time…

~Cora

 

Leave a Reply

